DeleteMyInfo Delete me

Do you want DeleteMyInfo to remove your information from data brokers?

How to Delete Twitter

Delete Twitter

Twitter doesn’t allow you to delete your account outright; they say that you must, first, deactivate the account, and that deactivation lasts 30 days or 12 months. While technically this isn’t different from the way Facebook and others work, the fact that they don’t allow you to delete the account is a bit annoying.

When you delete a Twitter account, you lose your username, but you cannot deactivate the account for longer than 30 days or 12 months, so if you think you might want to use Twitter again, you will need to log in to the account before the 30-day or 12-month period is over, then deactivate it again. After the selected period, the account is deleted.

Wondering how to delete your Twitter account?

Continue with the steps provided by DeleteMyInfo to know more. 

How to delete your Twitter account on desktop

01

Log in to Twitter in a web browser. If prompted, log in to your account. Enter your phone, email, or username. Then enter your password and click the “Log in” button.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
02

Find the “More” section on the bottom-left and click on it.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
03

Choose the “Settings and privacy” option from the drop-down menu.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo

DeleteMyInfo can help you save time by removing all your information from data brokers.

04

Find the “Deactivate your account” option at the bottom of the page and click on it.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
05

The appearing screen will inform you that your account will be deactivated. Click the “Deactivate” button.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
06

Complete your deactivation request by entering the password associated with your Twitter account and clicking the “Deactivate” button. Your account has been successfully deactivated.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo

Note: Once your Twitter account is deactivated, it is important to note that there’s a 30-day deactivation period. Do not log into your former Twitter account for the next 30 days to completely erase it.

How to delete your Twitter account on Android

01

Open the Twitter app on your Android device. Depending on the version of the app, click your profile icon or the hamburger menu (☰) in the top left corner.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
02

Select the “Settings and privacy” menu.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
03

Find the “Account” section and click on it.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
04

Scroll down the page and hit “Deactivate my account”.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
05

The appearing page will note that your account will be deactivated. Hit the “Deactivate” option.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
06

In order to confirm the deactivation of your Twitter account, enter the password associated with it, then click the “Deactivate” button.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
07

Tap “Yes, deactivate” to finish the deactivation process.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo

N.ote: Once your Twitter account is deactivated, it is important to note that there’s a 30-day deactivation period. Do not log into your former

How to delete your Twitter account on iOS

01

Open the Twitter app on your iOS device. Click your profile picture at the top of the screen.

02

Select the “Settings and privacy” section.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
03

Click the “Account” option.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
04

Scroll the appearing page to the very bottom. Click “Deactivate your account”.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
05

Scroll down the page and hit “Deactivate”.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
06

Enter your password to confirm deactivation. Then click the “Deactivate” button once again.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo
07

Click “Yes, deactivate” to finalize your request.

How to Delete Twitter - DeleteMyInfo

Note: Once your Twitter account is deactivated, it is important to note that there’s a 30-day deactivation period. Do not log into your former

Final Thoughts

Twitter.com might be entertaining, but it can also be dangerous for your mental health and privacy. Different people have various ideas on how to use social media properly, but it is obvious that occasionally taking a break is vital.

Deactivating or permanently deleting your Twitter account is acceptable. When you’re ready to use social media again, Instagram and all the others will still be there.

DeleteMyInfo.com has articles on how to delete your social media accounts if you want to perform a social media cleansing. Also, if you need help deleting your information from data brokers you may see our Free Removal Guides.

DeleteMyInfo.com offers a very budget-friendly plan to delete you from Google and remove you from over 150+ data brokers that exposes your personal information. If you want to know about our plans and promotions, click here, or you may also call us at (855)-959-0311 or visit us at our office located at 3000 Gulf to Bay Blvd Suite 205, Clearwater, FL 33765.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on tumblr
Tumblr
Share on skype
Skype
Share on telegram
Telegram
Share on pocket
Pocket
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email
Share on digg
Digg

Don’t have time to remove yourself from this site?

DeleteMyInfo is here to protect YOU.

Hundreds of companies collect and sell your private data online. DeleteMyInfo removes it for you.

Our privacy advisors:

Find out which DATA BROKERS sell your Personal Information!

Logo

Your message has been sent. Thank you for contacting us, we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.