DeleteMyInfo

How to deactivate/delete your social media accounts

Over half the world has social media accounts! Social media platforms offer creative and fun ways to stay in touch with our loved ones. So why would you want to delete social media? Whether you want your free time back or do not like your personal info scattered about on the internet, you may be considering deactivating some accounts.

Search engines like Google index social media content to serve up to anyone that looks for it. Most people give up their full names, email addresses, home addresses and often more to sign up for accounts and in turn, that information is readily available for anyone looking at the top of search results.

This guide will help you remove yourself from social media permanently and delete your social media accounts from the 4 most common platforms including Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and TikTok.

delete your social media accounts - DeleteMyInfo

How to delete or deactivate your account from Facebook Via Desktop

There are two ways to remove yourself from Facebook; deactivation or deletion.

•Log in then click the downward triangle (▾) at the top right-hand corner.

•Select Settings & Privacy > Settings.

•Click Your Facebook Information in the left column.

•Click Deactivation

•Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions to confirm.

Via Mobile

•Tap the three horizontal bars (☰) menu.

•Scroll down and tap Settings, then tap Personal and Account Information.

•Tap Account Ownership and Control.

•Tap Deactivation and Deletion, then select Delete Account. Here, as above, you can choose to deactivate your account or delete it.

•Tap Continue to Account Deletion, then tap Delete Account.

delete your social media accounts - DeleteMyInfo
delete your social media accounts - DeleteMyInfo

You can reactivate your account at any time by logging back into Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in somewhere else. You will need to have access to the email or mobile number you use to log in to complete the reactivation.

Please note: Some things may remain visible (for example private messages you have sent).

Deactivation is an effective way to test the waters and see if you can live without Facebook. Give it a few months and see how you feel. When you are ready to say goodbye to your account forever, delete it. To do so, follow the same steps for deactivation, but choose Delete account when given the option. As far as your friends are concerned, you will disappear immediately. However, Facebook may take up to 90 days (about 3 months) to fully erase all your data. Once you do that, there is no going back.

How to deactivate your account from Twitter

Twitter doesn’t allow you to delete your account outright; they say that you must, first, deactivate the account, and that deactivation lasts 30 days or 12 months. While technically this isn’t different from the way Facebook and others work, the fact that they don’t allow you to delete the account is a bit annoying.

When you delete a Twitter account, you lose your username, but you cannot deactivate the account for longer than 30 days or 12 months, so if you think you might want to use Twitter again, you will need to log in to the account before the 30-day or 12-month period is over, then deactivate it again. After the selected period, the account is deleted.

•On a web browser, sign into Twitter

•Click on the ellipsis (•••) icon, then Settings and privacy. Alternatively, in the Twitter app: Tap your avatar, then Settings and privacy.

•From the Account tab, click on Deactivate your account at the bottom of the page.

•Read the account deactivation information, then click Deactivate @username.

•Choose the reactivation period: 30 days or 12 months.

•Enter your password when prompted and confirm that you want to proceed by clicking the Deactivate account button.

How to deactivate/delete your account from Instagram

Instagram is also owned by Facebook, and, as with the Facebook service, you can choose to temporarily disable your Instagram account if you wish. Even though it is such a mobile-first service, like Twitter, Instagram does not let you delete your account through the app. Instead, you will have to log into your Instagram account via the web to delete it.

To deactivate your account

•Go to your profile page

•Select Edit Profile

•Temporarily Disable My Account.

To delete your account

•Visit https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/ 

•If you are not signed in yet, you will be prompted to sign into your account before continuing

•Select a reason for deleting your account.

How to delete your Pinterest account

•In a web browser, click Settings, then Account Settings in the left sidebar

•Tap Account Changes then Close Account.

•On the mobile app, tap the gear icon at the top right of the screen, then tap Account Settings.

•Tap Close Account.

•Explain why you want to close the account, then click or tap Next.

•Click or tap Send Email; Pinterest requires that you confirm the account deletion by clicking or tapping a link in the confirmation email.

•If you want to close a business account, Pinterest says that you may need to contact support for assistance.

When you close your account, Pinterest deactivates your public profile, but waits 14 days before fully deleting the account. If you wish to keep the account, log into Pinterest, and you’ll receive a link by email to reactivate the account.

How to delete your Tiktok account

You are only able to permanently delete your account on TikTok.

•Go to Profile tab, then tap the three horizontal bars (☰)

•Tap the Settings icon in the top right corner.

•Tap Manage my Account > Delete Account.

•Follow the steps in the app to delete your account.

Once you delete your account it is permanent and cannot be recovered at any point. You will no longer be able to log in, all videos will be lost and purchased items. Shared information and messages may still be visible to other

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit

Don’t have time to remove yourself from this site?

DeleteMyInfo is here to protect YOU.

Find out which DATA BROKERS sell your Personal Information!

Black and Orange Modern Digital Marketing agency Instagram

Hundreds of companies collect and sell your private data online. DeleteMyInfo removes it for you.

Our privacy advisors:
  • Remove Personal Information From BeenVerified.com
  • Remove Information from WhitePages.com
  • Remove Information from Spokeo.com
DeleteMy Info LOGO - DeleteMyInfo
Logo - DeleteMyInfo

Your message has been sent. Thank you for contacting us, we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.